0 – The Girl Who Embarked On An Experiment…

Telling the world about yourself is difficult. You want to seem interesting, intelligent and unique. But how to communicate this without coming across as arrogant, generic or fake? I hope this experiment will allow me to meet fascinating people who will expand my knowledge, my world-view and perhaps my friendship base, but I also hope it will help me to discover more about myself. I hope that by pushing myself outside of my comfort zone, I’ll test my own limits and start to define myself more clearly.

This experiment will involve giving everyone one chance to present themselves. I will document my first impressions here by describing to you “The Guy That”  (example ‘The Guy That Didn’t Know What Brunch Was’, true story). While this might be a bit harsh and definitely a bit judgemental, I think of it as being an equal opportunity for everyone. I have often heard that first dates can be like job interviews. I can see the resemblances – the loaded questions designed to assess the other person, the  feelings of nervousness tinged with excitement, and (most importantly) the high expectations. Lucky for me, I have always felt quite comfortable in job interviews and I believe I am fairly good at them. I wonder if the same will be true for first dates?

And if a first date is like an interview, then a dating profile is definitely the equivalent of a resume. And just like that, we are back on the topic of how telling the world about yourself is difficult. How do you make yourself stand out from the other candidates? How do you want to present yourself? How do you know how much is too much information and how much is not enough? I anticipate that I will have to do some googling à la how to write a good dating profile. In the meantime, I have created a profile that is honest and brief. Will my dating resume get me an interview (or 50)?

At the start of any experiment, there are more questions than answers and this one is no different. Where will it lead? How will it affect me? What will be the outcome? Only time will tell, but I nervously eagerly await the results.

Elle

Leave a Reply

