#2 – The Time That I Wrote a Bucket List…

‘Tis the season to reflect. With Christmas behind us and the New Year approaching, it seems to be the time of year where we examine what has been and imagine what will be. We look to the start of a new year as a time to re-invent ourselves. As I tend to find new years resolutions rather forced, in 2013 instead of focusing on what I want to change, I will focus on what I want to accomplish.  Since this blog is all about firsts and there are so very many firsts that I have been dreaming of experiencing, I have decided to write a list of all the amazing things I hope to do in my life. While there is no timeline for these activities, I do hope that some of them will be lived in 2013 and I will be able to chronicle them here. 

So today I say yes to the future. A future filled with adventure. A future filled with new. A future filled with firsts.

Without further ado, in no particular order, here is my bucket list for 2013 and beyond:

– run a 10k race
– take yoga teacher training
– live in europe
– climb a mountain
– read all BBC top 200 books
– participate in an act of civil disobedience
– take a wine tour (Completed! Nov. 2012 with my mum)
– speak french fluently
– attend a service in a mosque, a synagogue, a buddhist temple, and a roman catholic church
– learn to sail
– get paid to be outside and hike
– wear a size 12 or less
– bike across a country
– learn to can food and make pickles, chutney and jams
– take trip on a long-boat on a canal
– maintain a blog for a year
– live in a communal village
– milk a happy cow
– visit every continent
– go to a moonlight party in thailand
– complete a triathlon
– ride in a hot air balloon
– go scuba diving
– go to oktoberfest in germany
– see the northern lights
– visit the great barrier reef
– walk the camino trail
– visit tate gallery in london
– see the pyramids
– learn to play chess
– get a tattoo
– brew wine or beer
– knit something to completion
– get a master’s degree
– own a boat
– see turtles hatching
– go on a yoga retreat
– stay silent for a week
– attend st. patrick’s day in dublin
– learn enough spanish to get by
– work in the tourism industry
– visit the UN
– visit mecca
– ride the eye in london
– go to mardi gras in new orleans

Some of these items are very personal, others are fairly generic. Some of these items will take a lifetime to accomplish, others I plan on completing in the next few months. Some I will do alone, others I hope to do surrounded by loved ones. Some may be straightforward, others will perhaps shake me to my core. But I hope they will all open my eyes to the world around me and help me to discover things that I never even knew existed. 

Cheers to the future. Happy 2013 everyone!

Elle

 
Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

