World Beverages Part 5: Pink Sparkles & More Than Just Co-Workers

What: Sparkling Rose (brand unknown as it was provided by the hosts)

Where: My friend’s new apartment, Toronto

Who: Two ex-co-workers friends and one new beau

The Story:

I was supremely lucky when it came to the team I was hired to work with at my most recent job. There were only three of us and from the first day it felt right. Actually even during the interview process there may or may not have been a high-five. As time went by I found that due to the nature of my role I had a difficult working relationship with some staff and I would seek the advice and support of my team regularly. Through countless sushi lunches, coffee runs and Chinese horoscope reading breaks, we became inseparable at work. After about 18 months, our trifecta of awesome was broken apart by outside forces (evil, rotten-toothed, disease ridden forces) . The two of us left behind were truly devastated (and spent the next several months devising plans to get the hell out of there), but something amazing happened. Even though we didn’t work together everyday we all kept in touch and hung out outside of the office. We officially had crossed over into the Friend Zone and that was a very good thing!

This past Thursday, I was delighted to spend the evening with the two of them – we shall call them wordsmither and murderdeathkill (trust me, they would be honoured with those monikers). Wordsmither recently ended a long relationship, moved into a place of her own and starting someone new dating. As muderdeathkill hadn’t seen the place or met the beau we decided to meet there for some drinks. One drink quickly turned into two and without noticing hours had passed by. It was so easy to talk and joke and share. I think there truly are those people that you just click with and can be yourself with. Over the last year we have been through a lot together – break ups, restructures, illnesses, life altering events. But we have been there for each other with words of wisdom, comfort, mockery and support. I consider them an integral part of my life now and I am so glad that we’ve been able to maintain our friendship outside of work. I hope that even when there is an ocean between us, we will still be able to tell ridiculous inside jokes and make each other laugh.
Because when the sun shines, we’ll shine together. Told you I’ll be here forever. Said I’ll always be your friend. Took an oath, I’ma stick it out to the end. Now that it’s raining more than ever. Know that we’ll still have each other. You can stand under my umbrella. – Rihanna

 pink

Leave a Reply

