#14 – The Time I Started A Cryptic Crossword Tradition (Part 1 of 2) …

I’ve never been very good at keeping in touch. I don’t exactly know why, it isn’t that I don’t want to speak to my loved ones or keep with what is going on in their lives but the actual act seems to overwhelm me. When I was living in Edmonton, I only rarely spoke to my family and always after they initiated it. I don’t want this pattern to repeat itself when I move overseas. I want to make a more concerted effort to regularly communicate and keep up to date on the events in the lives of my loved ones. This time I have skype, facebook, and this blog to share information but I want to have a plan in place to talk regularly.

Once of my ideas is to set up weekly cryptic crossword sessions with my Nana. I know that she will reliably Skype with me and involved my Grandad in on our chats as well. So this past week I got around to buying The Times Cryptic Crossword Book volume 17. And I bought two volumes, one for me and one for my Nana. We can spend the week working on the puzzles and then on Saturday mornings we can skype to discuss the solutions. I am excited to combine one of my goals with a way of keeping in touch with two of the most important people in my life.This week I completed the first puzzle (with the help of the internet and my dad) and it is very challenging. I look forward to discussing the solutions with her on the weekend.

The truth is it will probably take me a long, long time to finish this goal. But when I do I’ll post part 2 of 2 and tell you all about my journey getting there.

Today I say yes to completing all 80 cryptic crossword puzzles. Yes to honing a skill and learning new ideas. Yes to keeping in touch with my loving family.

Elle.

Family isn’t just an important thing. It is everything. 

Crossword

Leave a Reply

