#16 – The Time That I Finally Did My Taxes…

From time to time in life there are projects that fall into a deep, dark void. This black hole is a powerful vacuum that engulfs tasks that just seem impossible to complete. Items that get sucked into the darkness tend to be those large undertakings that float around in the back of your mind while you go about your life. That you know you should complete but that never get prioritized. They are those tasks that cycle through a hundred to do lists without ever getting checked off. That weigh on you but not quite enough to force you into action.

Over the last few years I have been carrying around a few including: 1. applying for my british passport, 2. getting glasses, 3. finishing calculus, 4. figuring out if I ever graduated, 5. applying to my next phase of school (see #4), 6. taking my G driver’s test and 7. doing my taxes. Thanks in part to this blog and the 101 goals I have set for myself, I have had the motivation to work towards a few. And so I am proud to say, that this month I get to check off number 7!

Embarrassingly, I hadn’t done by taxes since 2008 and while I don’t make enough money for the government to really care, it still made me uneasy to leave them incomplete. Since I am leaving the country for an undetermined length of time, I decided it was finally time to work through the backlog. One of the roadblocks was that I didn’t really know how to do my taxes on my own and I didn’t think I would have the required documents from the last 4 years. Luckily, I am blessed to have an incredible father who always goes out of his way to help me.  My dad really is a loving, generous person who uses his time, energy, and expertise to support me and help solve my (many!) problems. I am so thankful to have him in my life. 

So through a combined effort, my dad and I located most of the documents and eventually filed 4 years worth of tax claims! The truth is my dad deserves the credit for helping me accomplish this important, dull and difficult goal. Without him my incomplete taxes would have remained trapped in the darkness and I would have been forced to carry that weight around with me as I travel. Plus the bonus is I actually get money back on my taxes. Money that I can spend on travel, adventure and a ticket home for a visit!

So today I say yes to persevering through the boring parts of your to do list. Yes to saying thank you to all those who help you along the way. And yes to a little cheddar for my adventures.

Elle.

Don’t say you don’t have enough time. You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Louis Pasteur, Michaelangelo, Da Vinci, and Albert Einstein.

Tax refund

Leave a Reply

