World Beverages Part 8: Black Velvet and An Irish Roommate’s Birthday

What: Black Velvet – a combination of Guinness and Champagne

Where: New diggs in Belfast, Northern Ireland

Who: New roommate, Canadian friend and a million random, awesome guests

The Story:

It has now been just over a week since I arrived in Belfast and, as I mentioned, I was having some trouble getting excited about being here. I hadn’t felt very connected with this city or this country but I had been hoping it was my jetlag and my old wounds and not the place itself. I am extremely happy to say that I this past Saturday I felt a bit more like old, party-going, social self! We hosted what can only be described as an epic birthday party for our new roommate. My friend from home invited her Belfast-based cousins and a (very sexy) friend she’d met at the hostel. Our housemate invited her Belfast friends and her brother. And the magic of it – everyone brought a bunch of their own friends! We ended up having people from all over the world, from all different social circles at this party. The Black Velvet drink turned out to be a bit of a bust due to the cheap champagne and it sorta tasted like teriyaki, but in my opinion it was the perfect symbol for kicking off a full-fledge Irish party! We drunkenly played card games, shared stories, played Never Have I Ever, had inappropriate make out sessions and eventually headed out to a bar for more debauchery. It reminded me of my university days when even if you were at a party full of strangers, by the end of the night you were all best friends. It was one of those nights where you get along with everyone, you laugh and dance and forget your worries, and you feel alive for the first time in a long time.

We’re happy, free. confused and lonely in the best way. It’s miserable and magical. Tonight’s the night when we forget about the heartbreaks. I don’t know about you but im feeling 22. – Taylor Swift

Surprisingly delightful Flithy MsNasty's. (I'm shocked too)

One thought on “World Beverages Part 8: Black Velvet and An Irish Roommate’s Birthday

  1. Pingback: #19 – The Time That I Celebrated St. Patrick’s Day in Ireland… | Elle's Fifty Firsts

Leave a Reply

