#20 – The Time I Mulled Over a Job Offer…

This morning I woke up to the sound of the phone ringing. Considering I have given my number to exactly two people – my roommate and the organization I interviewed with, I was pretty sure who it was. I was shocked to think that they would be calling me at 9am on a Monday because normally when you are rejecting someone you aren’t in a rush to do so, but I really didn’t think I stood a chance of getting the job. As it turns out they actually did want to offer me the job! I am still sort of in shock and I can’t figure out why me. (I mean I know I am totally awesome and all but I have just arrived, know nothing about UK charities or Irish politics, I don’t have a UK driver’s licence and I was a jet lagged crazy person during the interview…so what’s up?)

I considered both sides of the equation before making my decision. The great things about this job are the team seems supportive and well put together, the organization seems well run, the pay is great, I would have access to a car and the opportunity to meet from across Norther Ireland, it would further my career in the non-profit sector and of course my job hunt would be over before it began. The not-so-great parts are I would be working alone and therefore not make new local friends, I would likely be busy, stressed and focusing on my work life, I would again be working with a charity despite my desire to work in another sector, I would have to learn to drive stick on the left (which literally terrifies me!), and I might limit the time I would have for travelling.

I’ve never been in a position where I have been offered a really great job and considered not taking it with nothing else lined up. And yet, a month ago I could have said I’ve never been in a position where I’ve quit my job without another one in place, and I don’t regret that decision for a minute. I realize now that no matter what decision I make, I won’t regret it. Life is all about the decisions you make and yet nothing is ever final. Each choice is just another step on the journey and I can’t wait to see where it takes me!

So today I say yes to opportunity. To trusting your gut and letting the chips fall as they may. And yes to the next step.

Elle.

Each choice is a world made new. 

happy

Update: I took the job! So far the pros definitely outweigh the cons and I’m hoping for the best. I admittedly am feeling a bit stressed and quite challenged, but hopefully I am gaining new skills. I am loving that I’ve been able to visit London twice and have the opportunity to conquer my fear of manual cars! 

One thought on “#20 – The Time I Mulled Over a Job Offer…

  1. Pingback: #22 – The Time That I Flew To London For Work… | Elle's Fifty Firsts

Leave a Reply

