#25 – The Time That I Sung Karaoke…

Sometimes in life things happen without a single moment of planning, forethought or premeditation. Sometimes these adventures turn out amazingly well, sometimes they are a complete disaster.

On recent trip to Derry/Londonderry with some friends, I ended up drunkenly singing karaoke. It was definitely not planned but suddenly there I was on a dimly-lit stage surrounded by an blessedly inebriated audience singing Taylor Swift’s Love Song. How exactly did that happened? My foggy memory has me deciding it would be a fabulous idea for my roommates and I to re-enact a fairly epic hotel dance party we’d had earlier that night featuring Taylor Swift’s 22. Apparently the bar didn’t have the new album so we randomly settled on Love Story –  of which I know about 20% of the words. “We’re happy, free, confused and lonely at the same time. It’s miserable and magical.” versus “Marry me, Juliet, you’ll never have to be alone.” Not exactly the same sentiment…

Sometimes your dreams turn out just like you imagined. Sometimes they really aren’t so magical after all.

This adventure might not have been the crowd-rousing, live band backed, cowboy hat-wearing experienced I imagined (betcha didn’t see that coming!), but it happened naturally, fuelled by a few too many cocktails, surrounded by a great group of friends. The night might have ended in a lot of tears and even more puking, but in my precarious post-break-up, emotionally-unstable state, I think nothing less could be expected. I realized later the magic wasn’t in the karaoke, it was that after only 6 weeks here I had the support of friends who offered me their strength, stories and shoulders to cry on.

Sometimes a new experience teaches you a lesson simply and clearly. Sometimes the wisdom is buried a little deeper. 

I think hidden in my karaoke experience, the message I found was one of perspective. My heart hasn’t healed just yet, but it is on its way. And each and every day is a little bit easier. I can honestly say I am happy I decided to change my life, move abroad and make a new life with a wonderful group of friends. 

Today I say yes to sometimes just letting things happen, mistakes and all. Yes to cherishing friends, both here and afar. And yes to singing Taylor Swift at the top of your lungs with a drink in hand.

Elle.

No matter who broke your heart, or how long it takes to heal, you’ll never get through it without your friends.

vintage microphone 2

Leave a Reply

