3 – The City That Had Me Climbing 1000s of Stairs…

Positano, Italy – September 4th to 6th 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAInitial Thoughts: Positano is a pretty, picturesque village that lives up to every expectation of the beauty of the Amalfi Coast. The sea was a sparkling, perfect, endless blue. The sky was a cloudless, clear backdrop to the multi-coloured houses that climbed the steep hills. The sun gently warmed your skin after a refreshing dip in the Mediterranean sea. Positano is a famous honeymoon destination and you never doubt why. Unfortunately, it is not a very budget and solo-traveller friendly place. The only hostel is located a staggering 711 steps above the town and the seafront. There was limited dining options that don’t involve candlelight and four course meals. But the beach was stunning, the water was undeniably the height of Mediterranean perfection, the hostel was friendly and had a world class view from its terrace, and the wine flowed easily. Even thought I was single in a honeymoon town, I still found love for Positano.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFavourite Moment: On my last full day in Positano, I went to the smaller of the two town beaches and arrived early before the crowds. I treated myself to a reclining sunbed with an umbrella just a few feet from the sea. I spent the day in the sun, swimming, reading, napping, picnicking and I loved every minute of it. Thanks to the shade and the water, I was able to last all day in the sun and I felt, for the first time in a long time, warm, relaxed and at peace.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATakeaways: Positano was a beautiful location and I am so glad I decided to visit on this trip, but I do feel that it is a town best suited for visiting with a loved one. Going as a couple would allow you to stay closer to town, enjoy the spectacular dining and fully embrace the romantic atmosphere. While I do believe it is possible to visit anywhere as an independent traveller on a reasonable budget, I think that maybe, sometimes, some places are best experienced with a little luxury and romance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

