16 – The City That I Love…

Paris, France – November 13th to 23rd 2013

Paris

ParisParis

Initial Thoughts: Paris. Beautiful, magical Paris. Yes it is a cliché but I love Paris. I love its stunning architecture, I love its snarky populace, I love its never ending, impromptu-picnic places, I love its museums and art galleries, I love its brilliant night sky glowing with lights. I loved walking, walking, walking the gorgeous city streets. I loved stopping for coffee and wine in busy, smoky cafes. I loved China Town and its amazing deals. I loved sunset over the Seine. I loved shopping and daydreaming and speaking French. I even loved the Eiffel Tower sparkling in the night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Paris

Best Moment: It’s almost impossible to choose the best part of my time in Paris, but a series of moments involving world renowned art stand out. One rainy day was spent lost in the French Sculptures section of the Louvre. I wasn’t lost on the map, I was lost to space and time. I was lost in a fascinating, detailed, enlightened world of beauty. I pulled myself away after 6 hours inside those never-ending halls. On another day when the wind whipped and the rain fell, I found myself in the Musée de l’Orangerie and was awe-struck by Monet’s Water Lillies. I had no conception of how grand, how fluid, how multifaceted these murals truly are. My words fail me when describing them and a photo can never do them justice. The only way appreciate these works of art is to see them yourself.

Paris ParisTake Away: Some places simply live up to their reputation and exceed your expectations. I didn’t know a cold, grey week in the fall could be so filled with wonder and magic. Paris is one of the places in the world that brings me happiness with each visit. Many wonderful cities have made me feel at home, but few have made me feel truly alive. Paris lights a fire in me and inspires my wonderlust time and again. This visit was no exception. I wanted to go exploring. I wanted to visit new neighbourhoods. I wanted to re-visit famous landmarks despite the crowds. I wanted to spend days on end marvelling at the masterpieces in the Louvre and the Musee d’Orsay. More than that, I wanted to daydream of a time when I could call this city, this country, mine.

ParisParis

Leave a Reply

